Our Stories

Thank You Summer Youth Leaders

We wrapped up our 2019 Summer Youth Leader Volunteer program with a Pizza Party & Awards Ceremony at Pitfire Pizza.

Thank you to the more than 170 high school students who joined us this summer to support the teachers and students in our PEF Summer Enrichment Program. Our dedicated youth leaders give so much time and energy over the summer months and are a key to making our Summer Program a success. We couldn’t have done it without each and every one of you. We hope to see many of you back again next year. For those that are moving on to college and other pursuits, we wish you all the best.

Here are our 2019 Youth Leader Awards Recipients as selected by the teachers and staff of each school site. Congratulations to you all!

Awards of Distinction were given to those volunteers who conducted themselves with professionalism at all times and demonstrated a level of service that exceeded the expectations of teachers and staff. These volunteers were integral to the success of classroom lessons and program goals.

Emily Allen

Lily Arzili

Mallory Akers

Meara Block

Samuel Carter

Brian Cheng

Sophia Covarrubias

Aaleia Davis

Sarah Franklin

Alexander Flores

Erick Gabrielyan

Mohona Ganguly

Anna Guerra

Elizabeth Guzman

Zoe Harvey

Madison Jaffrey

Savannah Jenkins

Sonali Kalutarage

Grace Knuth

Kayla Lim

Gabriel Mabee

Enrique McDonald

Colin Montoya

Jordan Patton

Gracie Penn

Kevin Prada

Avery Redfearn

Ilayali Rodriguez

Khai Sam

Sabrina Segura

Faith Stafford

Nicolas Stanton

Lauren Sugiyama

Emma Valdiviez

Katherine Ward

Charlotte Zhang


Dedication to Service Awards were given to those volunteers who have served in our Summer Enrichment Program for three or more years. These volunteers have exhibited a strong commitment to serving their community – going well beyond meeting high school requirements and setting a high standard for positive, sustained community engagement.

Yumi Balthazar

Isabella Flad

Mohona Ganguly

Elizabeth Guzman

Kyirah Hamilton

Zoe Harvey

Haroutun Karakossian

Monet Latunde

Dino Linsalato

Brandon Luna

Rory Martin

Enrique McDonald

Xiomara McDonald

Kleanthi Mowrey

Camilee Reindorf

Ilayali Rodriguez

Lauren Sugiyama


Again, thank you 2019 Summer Youth Leaders!